Best of 2010 Mix

January 29, 2011 at 5:20 pm Leave a comment

Twitter has grown so much since I joined the ranks of being a tweeter three years ago. It has changed from the new, hip social media that few outside of the 20-28 year old demo knew how to operate to a form of interaction between businesses and consumers, celebrities and fans, educators and students, friends in real-life and more. Everyone from Kanye West and Barack Obama to NBC Universal and Fox News tweet.

My twitter list is composed of real-life friends, celebrities, radio people, concert venues, as well as Des Moines tweeters who I don’t know, but we share commonalities such as the city in which we live, friends, interests and more. @ljpalmer is one of those people that I don’t know…but is obviously cool because we have a lot of mutual friends and, it seems, a lot in common. A few weeks ago, she was tweeting about doing a Mixtape Exchange. She was asking interested parties to submit their info and she would pair each person up with a Mixtape buddy. Each person was to compile their list of their favorite songs from 2010 (to make the list at least 60 minutes in length), and in a few weeks everyone that was part of the group would get a mixtape.

It’s a pretty cool concept (a group of ten of my friends tried to do this a few years ago and we failed miserably), so I signed up immediately. At the time, I had just finished my top 10 singles of 2010, so I was pretty much done…that was until I realized that those top ten songs (featured below this post) only equaled 40 minutes in length. I quickly had to figure out some more songs to add to the mix to make it complete.

So…this is an addendum to my Top 10 Singles of 2010.  It still follows the format of each song is a single (well…I’m not entirely sure if the Amanda Palmer & John Legend covers were actual singles…but I digresss.) So, without further adieu, here are the 11 – 20 top songs of 2010.

11. The High Road by Broken Bells

I really dig The Shins. I have since my college boyfriend sent me Chutes to Narrow when I was studying abroad. So, when I heard that James Mercer had started a new band with none other than Danger Mouse, I knew that it had to be good. I kept hearing The High Road on the radio before I actually knew it was a Broken Bells song, but when I figured it out, I got the album and have been listening to it since.

12. Lantern by Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter. There is so much to say about this modern day Bob Dylan. Many people believe that he is one of the most talented songwriters of our generation and I don’t disagree. He’s been to Des Moines twice since I’ve moved back and both times, he’s packed the house (granted, it was the Mews…but even if it was Hoyt Sherman, he would still pack the house.)  Lantern is a beautiful love song that will definitely get your toes tappin’. (If you’ve never listened to Josh Ritter before, definitely check out some of my other favorite songs: Girl in the War, Wolves, Right Moves, Best for the Best and The Temptation of Adam. There is also a killer Daytrotter session with Josh that is FANTASTIC.)

13. Tighten Up by The Black Keys

I’m so happy that The Black Keys are finally getting the credit that they deserve. They’ve been at it for over ten years but it wasn’t until Attack and Release, another project that Danger Mouse had his hands in, came out in 2008 that the spotlight started to shine in their direction. Brothers definitely one ups Attack and Release, in my very humble opinion. The album, and the band, just have this attitude of “I don’t give a shit what you think…we’re gonna rock out and either you’re gonna like it or you can leave.”  This bluesy Ohio duo knows how to keep it simple but yet complex at the same time.  If you have a chance to see them in concert…do it. Their shows are amazing.

Also, I’m so glad that Dan Auerbach has cut his hair and beard….they were getting a little out of control a few years ago.

14. American Slang by The Gaslight Anthem

I remember the first time I heard The Gaslight Anthem. “This sounds like Springsteen, but I know it’s not…who IS this?” I had never heard of them until my friend Karri played 59 Sound off of their 2008 release of the same title. Honestly, and a bit sadly, I still don’t know much about this band. But what I do know, is that I like them and that if and when they come around Des Moines on their next tour, I will be there jumping around and singing their songs.


15. Fuck You by Cee Lo Green

If you haven’t heard this song sometime in 2010 then you must either A) not ever use the Internet B) be deaf or C) completely out of touch w/ pop culture. This song took the internet by STORM when it was released this summer. Despite it’s lack of radio friendly language, Cee-lo, best known for his collaboration with Danger Mouse to form the duo Gnarls Barkley, gave this bitter song a flavor of Motown that oozed with a retro-feel often found in songs by The Supremes, Martha & the Vandellas and Four Tops.  So, in other words, this song is too damn catchy. Listen to it once, and you’ll find yourself singing it for the rest of the week.

Oh, and for the record, the radio-friendly version Forget You is ridiculous….and not in a good way.

16. King of Anything by Sara Bareillis

17. Idioteque by Amanda Palmer

18. Wake Up by John Legend & The Roots

19. Parachute by Ingrid Michaelson

20. Ready to Start by Arcade Fire

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Top 10 Singles of 2010 The Covers, a Fall 2011 Mix

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



