The Enemy Lovers

June 12, 2010 at 8:00 pm Leave a comment

The Enemy Lovers are the band I have to thank for inspiring me to put together a music blog.  I first heard “Coming Down” when I was visiting my dad in Birmingham, AL in April 2009.  I had the luxury of borrowing my his car to drive from Birmingham to Mobile for my friend Adam’s wedding when I happened to tune to the now defunct station, LIVE 100.5 Birmingham’s Modern Music.  LIVE 100.5 was a fantastic AAA Radio Station (Adult Album Alternative) that played everything from Jack Johnson & The Cure to newer and undiscovered artists like Grace Potter & the Nocturnals and Phoenix.  It really is a shame that it no longer exists…but that’s another post for another day.

“Coming Down” was so damn catchy that upon first listen, I pulled out my iPhone and shazam’d it to find out who it was. When I got back to Des Moines, I went online and downloaded it and have been listening to it ever since.  It’s an incredibly catchy song and I find myself turning up my stereo anytime it comes up on my iPod.  The Enemy Lovers are an unsigned band from Asheville, NC consisiting of two brothers, Steven and Tim Scroggs, Kent Recktor and Kevin Stipe.  According to their website, The Enemy Lovers actually formed by accident.  Originally pursuing a solo career, Tim went into the studio to record his first album.  It was during this recording process that the producers asked for a couple of more up-tempo songs that Tim and Steven began writing together.  “Coming Down” was the song the hit a chord with both Tim and Steven and eventually helped create The Enemy Lovers.

They recently made a video for “Coming Down.”  You can check it out below.  Purchase their EP The Enemy Lovers now on their website.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Hello world! Top 10 Singles of 2010

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



